Skip to content

Sábado de Gloria

Definition of Sábado de Gloria

The Sábado de Gloria or Saturday of glory, commemorates the day that Jesus Christ lay in the tomb after his death, according to the Christian Bible.

For the Jewish community and some Christian congregations this term would apply to every Saturday of the week. This is because for them Saturday is the day that must be kept according to the commandments contemplated in Exodus 20.


  1. Holy Saturday
  2. Seventh day of Holy Week
  3. Easter Vigil
  4. Black saturday
  5. Day before easter


This denomination of this day originates from the Christian church in the Middle Ages. This is to imply that at the end of the day the crucial moment of the resurrection is reached, which is one of the main bases of faith.

The celebration commemorates the last day of Christ’s death, which is traditionally associated with his triumphal descent into hell, according to the New Testament.


The Sábado de Gloria is known as Judas Day in Mexico, where people burn effigies of Judas Iscariot, who betrayed Jesus for 30 pieces of silver. This is the day that Jesus remained in the tomb where he had been buried after his crucifixion.

This day can be called Sábado de Gloria, Holy Saturday and also Easter Vigil, which is a religious celebration that ends the season of Lent, falling on the day before Easter Sunday.

The Saturday of Glory is the day after Good Friday and the day before Easter Sunday. It is also known as Easter Eve, Easter, Black Saturday, or the Saturday before Easter.